Lamination

Laminating is the coating of printed products with a polymer film. It is produced by using special equipment. The main function of lamination is to protect the package from external influences, water, abrasion of paint. The lamination gives the paper and cardboard extra density and rigidity. The main types of films are matte, glossy and velvet (soft touch).

The glossy film, in addition to protecting the packaging, gives premium boxes a glamorous sheen, makes the printed images brighter and glare in the sun.

A matte film gives, for example, a souvenir box an elegant and respectable look. If you use a matte film you should be aware that it will dull the colors of your printed images. For example, black will become less black.
But if you put a UV varnish on top of this film or do a gold embossing with hot foil it will change the situation… but we will talk about that later.

Soft-touch, also known as velvet lamination film, gives the surface a pleasant tactile effect. This premium material makes a stunning impression on customers. However, it also costs much more than conventional films.

Recently, special decorative films have appeared that can be used to decorate surfaces. These films have textured surfaces. These textures are “sand”, “linen”, “canvas” and others. The impression these films make is stunning, but alas, their price is unbearably high.

There are “gold” and “silver” films. These are glossy films that give the impression of mirror-like metallic surfaces.

As I already wrote, lamination gives a great effect in combination with different varnishes and foil embossing. On the matte laminated surface of the box you can apply a high-gloss tactile varnish. This tactile varnish can be applied selectively on certain parts of the box and not on the entire surface. So you can highlight certain fragments of the image, to give them a shine and add a saturation of color. Also it looks fantastic when a matte lamination and hot stamping with gold foil are combined on a premium package.

Пленка для ламинации

Ламинирование (ламинация)

Ламинирование, ламинация — покрытие печатной продукции полимерной пленкой, с помощью специального оборудования. Основная функция ламинирования — функция защиты упаковки от внешних воздействий, воды, истирания красок, придает бумаге и картону дополнительную плотность и жесткость. Основные виды пленок — матовая, глянцевая и бархатная (soft touch).

Глянцевая пленка, кроме защиты упаковки, придает премиальным коробкам гламурный блеск,  делает ярче печатное изображение, однако бликует на солнце.

Матовая пленка придает, например, сувенирной коробке элегантный, респектабельный вид. Но будьте готовы к тому что эта пленка приглушит цвета вашего изображения. Например, черный цвет станет менее черным.
Но если на эту пленку нанести сверху УФ-лак или сделать золотое тиснение горячей фольгой… но об этом потом.

Софт-тач (soft-touch), она же бархатная ламинационная пленка, придает поверхности приятный тактильный эффект, очень приятна на ощупь. И этот материал премиум класса производит потрясающее впечатление на клиентов.  Однако и стоит он практически на порядок дороже обычных пленок.

В последнее время появились специальные декоративные пленки, с помощью которых можно декорировать поверхности — пленки с текстурированными поверхностями. Это фактуры «песок», «лен», «холст» и другие. Впечатление эти пленки производят потрясающее, но увы цена и у них немилосердна.

Существуют пленки «золотые» и «серебряные». Это глянцевые пленки с помощью которые создают впечатление зеркальных металлических поверхностей.

Как я уже писал — ламинация дает отличный эффект в сочетании с различными лаками, тиснением фольгой. На матовую ламинированную поверхность коробочки можно нанести высокоглянцевый объемный лак. Причем, не на всю поверхность, а выборочно. Так можно выделить определенные фрагменты изображения, придать им блеск и добавить насыщенности краскам. Также хороша комбинация когда на премиум упаковке сочитается матовая ламинация и горячее тиснение золотой фольгой.

Пролистать наверх